fieldnanax.blogg.se

James blake radio silence
James blake radio silence








james blake radio silence

I swear I could feel my spleen vibrating. It makes the concert into a full-body experience. I overheard the guy next to me yelled to his friend "that feels good!" and I agree. How the hell did he make such minimal music rock the audience? Something I didn't understand before seeing him live: his live music uses ultra-deep sounds that vibrate the entire block. I like their song Bruises, but apparently nothing else they do. The opener, Chairlift, was fine, but looked frumpy and timid on stage. OH MY GOD, James Blake is FABULOUS! I was not excited going into that show - I had considered skipping entirely if anyone had wanted to buy both my tickets. I arrived late, so I missed the opener entirely. Very cool, but I wouldn't have guessed that. James Blake appeals to every demographic, apparently. One thing that really surprised me about this show was the exceptional diversity of the audience. I think if I'd stayed until the very end it would have turned into the dance party I remembered. I stayed for 2 songs that were progressively more dance-able than anything prior. By the time I was ready to leave (it was a school night!) the tempo was just starting to change.

james blake radio silence

The first half the the set was haunting, spare, soulful, and yes, slow. What I meant is that there was an almost religious quality to the music that night. Sometimes it pays off to go to a show alone." At least I got an awesome seat in the front. I thought it would be the amazing dance party I saw him play a couple years ago. Gorgeous sound, but this show is sleepy! Probably should not have bought this ticket. This is what I posted about this show on Facebook as it was happening: "I worshiping at the temple of dub step - a James Blake concert in the very civilized Lincoln Theater. With lavish sounds which take listeners through a rollercoaster of emotions and styles, Blake continues to amaze constantly pushing boundaries and genre confines. Rapper Kanye West once stated in a radio interview that Blake was one of his favourite artists, hinting at a possible future collaboration.

james blake radio silence

The album produced the Ivor Novello award winning single “Retrogade” and earned him a string of nominations at the Grammy’s, BRIT’s as he took home the 2013 Mercury Prize for “Overgrown”.

#James blake radio silence full

In 2013, Blake released his second full length album “Overgrown” featuring collaborations with Brian Eno and RZO which peaked at number eight in the UK album charts and was praised amongst his peers. Blake spent much of 2012 touring his material playing a mixture of intimate and medium sized shows nationwide. Later that year, Blake produced the “Enough Thunder” EP which included a collaboration with Bon Iver on the track “Fall Creek Boys Choir” and a cover of Joni Mitchell’s “A Case of You”. Releasing his debut self-titled album in February 2011 saw him peak at number nine in the UK album charts and featured the singles “Limit to Your Love” and “The Wilhelm Scream”. With influences ranging from the likes of: D’Angelo, Joni Mitchell, Bon Iver and Stevie Wonder, Blake’s inherent vocal talent rose to the occasion with the BBC nominating him as Sound of 2011 alongside The Vaccines, Jamie Woon and Clare Maguire. The title track from “CMYK” was named as Radio 1 DJ Nick Grimshaw’s ‘Record of the Week’. For the next year Blake began lending his vocals to his forthcoming releases the “Klavierwerke” and “CMYK” EP’s. In 2009 he released the double A side single “Air & Lack Thereof” recorded in his bedroom which received glowing reviews from Radio 1 DJ Gilles Peterson who picked up the track as a firm favourite. Emerging as a promising and exciting dubstep producer in 2006, Blake began as a producer injecting his samples reflecting his love of R&B into his dubstep remixes. We played something from it earlier - I hope you liked it.”Ĭatch up with our report from his set here, and check out ‘Radio Silence’ below.With passion for music nurtured from an early age, it led Blake to Goldsmith’s University where graduated in Popular Music. Speaking at Latitude, Blake told the crowd: “It’s really nice to be with you as the sun goes down, it’s always my favourite time to play… I’m writing a new album. It’s been aired at 1-800 Dinosaur DJ sets and shows as far back as last year’s Warehouse Project slot, but this looks to be the finished thing.

james blake radio silence

Earlier this year however, footage emerged of the song being performed in its entirety at Tampa’s Big Guava Fest. He also revealed that he’d played a new song from the follow-up to 2013’s ‘Overgrown’ during his set, but it was shared in disguised form.Ĭalled ‘Radio Silence’ (also the working title of Blake’s new album), the song was wedged within a cover of Bill Withers’ ‘ Hope She’ll Be Happier’, a staple of his live sets. During his Latitude 2015 set last weekend, James Blake confirmed to the Obelisk Arena crowd that he’d been working on a new album.










James blake radio silence